Skip to content

SCAA Open 2019 now open for entries


SCAA Open 2019 now open for entries

The 2019 SCAA/ORBIS BLOODSTOCK Open Tennis Championships is now open for entries! At the official press conference on Tuesday that was also attended by former full-time players Kevin Wong and Andy Lau, the organisers announced that play will commence on Aug 17 with the Chairman Cup and Mixed Doubles, followed by the Open Events on Sep 7.

This year’s men’s singles champion will earn a payout of HK$30,000 and the winning men’s doubles pair will receive HK$15,000. The finals and prize presentation ceremony is scheduled for October 27.

Participants must submit individual entry forms by the following deadlines:

Mixed Doubles (July 26)
Chairman Cup (July 26)
Open Events (August 18)

Download Entry Forms

SCAA Chairman Victor Hui remarked, “SCAA Open is one of the biggest tournaments held in Hong Kong annually and has continuously attracted the participation of not only the top local players, but also competitors from overseas. SCAA will continue to play an important role in fostering the growth of the game and supporting the development of tennis in Hong Kong.”                                                                                                  

Tournament Director, Dr. David Ho, noted, “We are pleased to announce that total prize money for the open events this year is $250,000.   The tournament will begin on August 17 and we are looking forward to even more youngsters participating in the under-18 Junior Open Singles Championships after its inaugural edition in 2018. The Finals and prize presentation ceremony are scheduled to take place on Sunday, October 27.”

Defending men’s champion, Kevin Wong, has already bagged the first major of the year when he beat Brian Yeung, 6-3, 6-3, to capture the Prudential Hong Kong National Tennis Championships earlier in April. The doubles final last year saw Brian Yeung and Lee Hsin-Han topple No. 1 seed Kevin Wong and Jack Wong in a close third set super-tiebreak, 4-6, 6-1, [10-8].

Notable past men’s champions include Tau Luu (1974-76), Randall King (1980, 1985), Kelvin Ng (1981, 1983), Colin Grant (1984, 1988, 1992-93), John Hui (1995), Shane Barr (1996-97), Melvin Tong (1998), Wayne Wong (2006, 2009), Phillip King (2011-14), and Jack Wong (2015-17), to name a few.

Kevin Wong is not only the defending champion at King’s Park, for he has won the past three local majors starting with the SCAA and CRC Open in 2018, and then followed by the Prudential Hong Kong National Tennis Championships earlier in April.

In the Open Era, five men have managed to win all three local majors in the same calendar year: Tau Luu (1976), Colin Grant (1984), Shane Barr (1997), Goran Bosalevski (2007), and Phillip King (2013).

On the women’s side, Maggie Ng (WTA No. 640) is the 7-time defending champion, who will once again be the prohibitive favourite in the absence of other world-ranked full-time players, such as Zhang Ling, Eudice Chong, Tiffany Wu, and Ng Kwan Yau.

However, the unexpected outcome of matches at times is what fuels the intrigue, as aptly demonstrated by Ng’s surprise three-set defeats to teenagers Justine Leong, 3-6, 7-5, 6-1, in the CRC Open semifinal and against Lin Wing Ka, 2-6, 6-2, 6-1, in the finale of this year’s Prudential Hong Kong National Tennis Championships.

Notable past ladies’ singles champions include Patricia Hy (1978-79), Ling Tsui Yuen Yuen (1981), Paulette Moreno (1982, 1984-85), Ellinore Lightbody (1986-89), Willy Chan (1990, 1992-93, 1995), Jacklyn Fu (1991, 1999), Tong Ka Po (1997-98), Venise Chan (2003-04), Tiffany Wu (2009), and Katherine Ip (2010), to name a few.

Remember, you have to be in it to win it! Have a say in the 2019 SCAA/ORBIS BLOODSTOCK Open Tennis Championships and make your presence felt. Put forth your entries today!

Related Stories:

Victory for Kevin Wong, Maggie Ng at SCAA Open 2018

Jack Wong, Maggie Ng are SCAA Open 2017 champions