Sharan and Myneni capture Hong Kong Tennis Champions Cup 2016


At the Clearwater Bay Golf & Country Club on Sunday, Indian duo Divij Sharan and Saketh Myneni justified their top billing by defeating surprise finalists Sho Katayama and Bumpei Sato of Japan in straight sets, 6-3, 6-3, to lift this year's Hong Kong Tennis Champions Cup.

Chinese Taipei's Hsieh Cheng-Peng and Peng Hsien-Yin took third place after seeing off Vishnu Vardhan and Sriram Balaji of India in the playoff, 6-3, 6-1.

Watch HKTCC 2016 Replays on LeSports

With the win, the champions received a prize money of HK$80,000, while Katayama and Sato earned a runners-up payout of HK$50,000.

Sharan and Myneni were dominant in their service games throughout the 72-minute final and faced break points only once in each set, which they managed to save in no-nonsense fashion.

On the contrary, Katayama and Sato's opening serves were already subject to immediate threat, as they were both taken to deuce by some searing returns and timely forecourt intercepts from their opponents.

The Indian pair finally broke Katayama in the sixth game for a 4-2 advantage, a lead they did not relinquish the rest of the set.

To the Japanese tandem's credit, they saved a set point with Myneni serving for it at 5-3, 40-30, but it was not enough for them to get back in the set, as the six-foot-four Indian Davis Cupper came up with strong deliveries to hold for the opener, 6-3.

With the first set in the bag, Sharan and Myneni's net game began to flow more freely and they pounced again early to break Sato convincingly in the third game.

After the world No. 63 consolidated for a swift 3-1 lead, the pressure then piled on for Katayama, as a gaping 0-40 deficit stared him right between the eyes.

To concede another service break here will almost spell a certain end to any possible comeback.

The Japanese, however, are a resilient bunch, and they raised their level of play enough to string together six of the next seven points to hold on for 3-2. In fact, their good run extended into the next game, as Katayama and Sato forced Myneni to save a break point at 30-40 before the double Asian Games medallist threw down excellent serves to take the score to 4-2.

Then in the ninth game with Katayama needing to hold serve to stay in the match, the Indians produced some of their best returns and volleying on the day to break Katayama at love to wrap up the final, 6-3, 6-3.

It was third time lucky for Sharan and Myneni after a runner-up finish to Christopher Rungkat and Ruben Gonzales in 2014 and a semifinal loss against the Ratiwatana brothers from Thailand twelve months ago.

Earlier in the round robins, due to Sharan and Myneni's 6-1, 6-7(5), [11-9] loss to Vishnu Vardhan and Sriram Balaji, they were subject to an earlier than expected meeting with Chinese Taipei's Hsieh Cheng-Peng and Peng Hsien-Yin in the ensuing semifinals.

It was evenly fought till the end with the second seed saving two match points when they trailed 9-6 in the third set super-tiebreak. However, a confident interception by Sharan off a well struck crosscourt from Hsieh saw the Indians go through, 6-4, 4-6, [10-8].

The other semifinal was equally tight, as Sho Katayama and Bumpei Sato split the opening sets with Vishnu Vardhan and Sriram Balaji, but inept volleying by the latter saw them quickly fall behind 9-4 in the third set super-tiebreak.

Although Vardhan and Balaji saved three match points courtesy of some nervous play from the Japanese, another mistruck volley from Vardhan was all Katayama and Sato needed to win, 7-6(5), 2-6, [10-7].

The Hong Kong Tennis Champions Cup 2016
Clearwater Bay Golf & Country Club
Dec 10-11, 2016

Divij Sharan/Saketh Myneni (IND) d. Sho Katayama/Bumpei Sato (JPN) 6-3 6-3

Divij Sharan/Saketh Myneni (IND) d. Hsieh Cheng-Peng/Peng Hsien-Yin (TPE) 6-4 4-6 [10-8]
Sho Katayama/Bumpei Sato (JPN) d. Vishnu Vardhan/Sriram Balaji (IND) 7-6(5) 2-6 [10-7]

3rd-4th Place Playoff
Hsieh Cheng-Peng/Peng Hsien-Yin (TPE) d. Vishnu Vardhan/Sriram Balaji (IND) 6-3 6-1

Round Robins

Green Group
Divij Sharan/Saketh Myneni (IND) d. Lam Ching/Alan Sou (HKG) 5-7 7-5 [10-3]
Vishnu Vardhan/Sriram Balaji (IND) d. Lam Ching/Alan Sou (HKG) 6-0 6-0
Vishnu Vardhan/Sriram Balaji (IND) d. Divij Sharan/Saketh Myneni (IND) 6-1 6-7(5) [11-9]

Yellow Group
Hsieh Cheng-Peng/Peng Hsien-Yin (TPE) d. Sho Katayama/Bumpei Sato (JPN) 7-6(2) 6-2
Sho Katayama/Bumpei Sato (JPN) d. Jason Jung/John-Paul Fruttero (USA) 6-4 6-3
Hsieh Cheng-Peng/Peng Hsien-Yin (TPE) d. Jason Jung/John-Paul Fruttero (USA) 7-5 6-3


Official Ball 指定網球