Davis Cup


Davis Cup Asia/Oceania - Group II
Date: 14 - 15 September 2019
Venue: Victoria Park Tennis Stadium

Team members: Jack WONG, Brian YEUNG, KAI Wai Yu, Coleman WONG

Captain: YU Hiu Tung

Details: Click Here


Davis Cup Asia/Oceania - Group II
Date: 3rd - 4th February 2018
Venue: Hong Kong, China

Team members: Skyler BUTTS, Jackie TANG, Jack WONG, Kevin WONG, Brian YEUNG

Captain: YU Hiu Tung

Details: Click Here


 Davis Cup Asia/Oceania - Group II
 Date: 3rd - 5th February 2017
 Venue: Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

 Team members: WONG Hong Kit Jack, WONG Chun Hun Kevin, LI Hei Yin Andrew, Karan RASTOGI

Captain: Michael WALKER

 Results: Click Here
 Davis Cup Asia/Oceania - Group III
 Date: 11th - 17th July 2016
 Venue: Tehran, Iran

 Team members: WONG Hong Kit Jack, WONG Chun Hun Kevin, TANG Anthony Jackie, Karan RASTOGI

 Captain: YU Hiu Tung

 Results: Click Here (Group A) & Here (Group B)
 Related Article: Click Here


 Davis Cup Asia/Oceania - Group III
 Date: 25th - 28th March 2015
 Venue: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

 Team members: WONG Hong Kit Jack, LI Hei Yin Andrew, LAM Siu Fai Kelvin, Phillip KING

 Captain: Phillip KING

 Results: Click Here


1st Round 

31 Jan - 02 Feb 2014

Hong Kong vs. Thailand



04-06 Apr / 25-27 Apr 2014


  Hong Kong vs. Indonesia





Asia / Oceania 2014 Group II

Hong Kong Team Profile


DAVIS CUP by BNP Paribas



The inaugural Davis Cup (called the International Lawn Tennis Challenge before 1945) began in 1900 primarily as an annual challenge between the United States and Great Britain. However, since a Harvard undergrad by the name of Dwight F. Davis captained the US team to a 3-0 victory over the visiting British Isles team at the Longwood Cricket Club in Boston that summer, the number of nations competing in the annual competition had grown to almost 140 by the end of 2007.

With over a century of tradition behind it, the Davis Cup by BNP Paribas is the premier team competition in the world. It has also evolved into a recognized institution in tennis and was seen as instrumental, at least in part, in fuelling the growth of tennis from 1900 until the present day.

The pinnacle of the Davis Cup is to win the World Group, which is contested by the top 16 nations annually. Unlike traditional powerhouses such as USA, France, Spain, and Australia, less developed nations such as Hong Kong have to contend with Zonal qualification each year in an attempt to gain promotion to higher company the following year (See Davis Cup structure).

In 1970, Hong Kong was a participating nation in the Davis Cup for the first time when the team of Kenneth Tsui, Ling Fong, and Winston Wei, not to mention with Mr. L. Cyril Kotewall as non-playing Captain, took on Japan.

Hong Kong's best Davis Cup performance to date was reaching the first round in Asia/Oceania Group I in 1989, and from 1993-95. The last time the territory managed to reach the final in Asia/Oceania Group II was in 2003 when the quartet of John Hui, Brian Hung, Wayne Wong, and Yu Hiu Tung was defeated in Kaohsiung by a Taiwanese contingent led by the one-two of Lu Yen-Hsun and Wang Yeu-Tzuoo.

Davis Cup Media Guide 2011

See also:

Hong Kong Davis Cup All Time Records (1970 - 2012)

Hong Kong Davis Cup Results (1970 - 2012)

Hong Kong Davis Cup Team Statistics

Past Davis Cup Programs

Davis Cup by BNP Paribas is the largest annual international team competition in sport with 130 nations entered in 2011. The title sponsor is BNP Paribas, the Official Bank of Davis Cup. International sponsors are Turismo Madrid (Official Tourist Destination), HP (Official Technology Sponsor), Rolex (Official Timekeeper), Hugo Boss (Official Men's Fashion Clothing Sponsor), Adecco (Official HR Partner) and NH Hoteles (Official Hotel). Wilson Sporting Goods (Official Ball) is an international partner. Follow all the action onwww.daviscup.com and www.copadavis.com.