Tuesday, July 29, 2014 ..:: Archive » Articles ::.. Register  Login  |  Eng  |  中文  | 
 View Article

Current Articles | Categories | Search

Saturday, December 13, 2008
Wayne Wong, Sher Chun Wing crowned CRC Open 2008 Champions
By Andy Yanne @ 1:59 PM :: 3526 Views ::

Men's Singles Champion - Wayne WongAt the CRC Open 2008, No. 2 seed Wayne Wong defeated an error strewn Jonathan Chu, 6-2, 6-1, to bag his third career men's singles title, while on Saturday, second-seeded Sher Chun Wing defied the world rankings by beating top seed He Chun-Yan (WTA 789), 2-6, 6-4, 6-3, to win her first ladies' singles crown at these championships.

[Roll of Honour] (1948 - 2008)

In the men's singles final, former two-time winner Wayne Wong began proceedings by sending down a thumping ace to hold serve at love. Aided by Jonathan Chu's pair of double faults in the first couple of points in the ensuing game, Wayne Wong broke serve immediately to stake himself a quick-fire 2-0 lead.

After throwing in two more aces in the next game, the No. 2 seed was up 3-0 before his American opponent finally held to get on the board to trail, 3-1.

Games then went with serve until the eighth game when the former Harvard number one yielded his serve again by losing four straight points from 30-love up to concede the opening set, 6-2.

The second set was one-way traffic, as Wayne Wong broke his opponent's opening two service games to catapult to a commanding 5-0 lead before the former ATP No. 527 from New York held serve in the sixth game to break the duck.

Following his seventh ace of the match, Wayne Wong quickly wrapped things up by another solid hold to seal the second set, 6-1. At the final whistle, the number two seed did not face a single break point all match long, as his opponent's rustiness from not having competed on the pro circuit since 2006 began to manifest into costly errors.

The pair of finalists had met once before as collegians in an NCAA Division I dual-match when Wayne Wong beat Jonathan Chu, 6-3, 6-4, in Berkeley's 4-3 win against Harvard in March 2004.

In securing his third career title at the CRC Open, Wayne Wong (2004-05, 2008) joins Yu Hiu Tung (2001-02, 2006), Michael Walker (1988-91), Randall King (1980-82, 1985), Tau Luu (1970-77), To Kwun Kau (1949-50, 1953, 1956, 1961), and the legendary Ip Koon Hung (1948, 1951-52, 1954, 1957-60, 1962-64) as the only players to possess at least three CRC Open men's singles titles.

Ladies' Singles Champion - Sher Chun WingEarlier on Saturday, second-seeded reigning SCAA Open champion Sher Chun Wing defied the world rankings by erasing a one-set deficit to beat top seed He Chun-Yan (WTA 789), 2-6, 6-4, 6-3.

Having also won the HK National ladies' singles back in 2006 and the SCAA Open last month, Sher Chun Wing became the first player to capture all three local majors in their career since Venise Chan last accomplished the feat in 2005 as a 16-year-old.

Venise Chan had previously captured the SCAA Opens in 2003 and 2004, the HK Nationals in 2004, and finally the CRC Open in 2005.

The last player to win the ladies' singles crowns at both the SCAA and CRC Open in the same calendar year was Lam Po Kuen in 2002, who, in actual fact, completed the Triple Crown that year by also claiming the HK National title earlier that season.

In 1997, the year of the Handover, Tong Ka Po just missed out on the Triple when she lost to Tang Min in the HK National final that was held earlier in the Spring but ended up winning both the SCAA and CRC Open titles towards the end of the year.

Bearing in mind that the School Girls' Singles was not made a fixture until 1998, Sher Chun Wing, nonetheless, has managed to do something no player has done before at the CRC Open – that is, winning the School Girls' Singles, Ladies' Singles, and Ladies' Doubles simultaneously at the same championships.

Men's Doubles Champions - Yu Hiu Tung & Goran BosalevskiOver in the Men's Doubles final played on Saturday, top-seeded Yu Hiu Tung and Goran Bosalevski beat 3-4th seeds Sean Cooper and Jason Lijewski in straight sets, 7-6(2), 6-3, to lift the title.

In the process, Yu Hiu Tung thus became the sixth man in CRC Open Hardcourts history to win the men's doubles title with three or more different partners, and he is the first player to do so since Colin Grant last achieved the feat back in 1993.

Since 1948, players who have won the men's doubles at the CRC Open Hardcourts with three or more different partners were:

Edwin Tsai – w/ J.W. Spence (1949), w/ Ip Koon Hung (1952), w/ Wong Man Ching (1955), w/ Michael Lo (1956), w/ Tsui Wai Pui (1958)
Ip Koon Hung – w/ Edwin Tsai (1952), w/ Ng Man Cheung (1957), w/ S. Sonoda (1962), w/ K.S. Leung (1965)
Tsui Wai Pui – w/ Tsui Yun Pui (1948), w/ Edwin Tsai (1958), w/ Louis Hsu (1966)
Kenneth Tsui – w/ Felicisimo Ampon (1968), w/ Winston Wei (1970), w/ Ling Fong (1971)
Colin Grant – w/ Pang Lui (1984), w/ Hans Bruggeman (1986), w/ Michael Walker (1993)
Yu Hiu Tung – w/ Lu Ling (2002), w/ Wayne Wong (2006), w/ Goran Bosalevski (2008)

Incidentally, as far as the record books go, it must also be noted that Yu Hiu Tung is the fourth player since 1976 to have won the men's singles, men's doubles, mixed doubles, school boys' singles and school boys' doubles titles in their careers.

Since the mixed doubles event first became a fixture at the CRC Open in 1976, only three other players have managed to attain this feat. They were Pang Lui, Melvin Tong, and Wayne Wong.

More significantly, by claiming his third career men's doubles title on Saturday, Yu Hiu Tung joins the legendary Ip Koon Hung and Tau Luu as the only players to have won at least three men's singles and three men's doubles titles in their careers here at the CRC Open Hardcourts.

Ladies' Doubles Champions - Sher Pui Wing & Sher Chun WingIn the Ladies' Doubles, the sister pairing of Sher Chun Wing and Sher Pui Wing, the reigning SCAA Open champions, defeated Wu Ho Ching and Katherine Ip, 6-2, 6-1, to lift their first CRC Open crown.

Earlier in the Men's 35+ Singles, No. 2 seed Andres Battad defeated top seed Graeme Foster, 7-5, 6-2, in the final to lift his first such title. Foster, the inaugural champion in this particular event in 2003, did manage to win his second Men's 35+ Doubles together with Andy Brothers when the Aussies combined to beat defending champions Stephen So and Andrew Lee in a third set super-tiebreak, 7-6, 3-6, [10-7].

150 Year of Over Combined Age Men's Doubles Champions - K.S. Leung & Dr. Stanley HoIn the 150 Year or Over Combined Age Men's Doubles, top-seeded Dr. Stanley Ho and K.S. Leung won their seventh straight title since the event's inception in 2002 when they combined to beat Ng Man Cheung and Chow Tsun Wing in the final, 8-2.

60th CRC Open Hardcourt Tennis Championships
Chinese Recreation Club, Hong Kong
November 2008

(2)Wayne Wong d. Jonathan Chu 6-2 6-1

(2)Sher Chun Wing d. (1)He Chun-Yan 2-6 6-4 6-3

(1)Yu Hiu Tung/Goran Bosalevski d. (3-4)Sean Cooper/Jason Lijewski 7-6(2) 6-3

(2)Sher Chun Wing/Sher Pui Wing d. Wu Ho Ching/Katherine Ip 6-2 6-1

(1)Yu Hiu Tung/Zhang Ling d. Tong Tat Fu/Tong Ka Po -- Walkover

For full results, please visit the official website www.crcopen.com.


Copyright 2009 Hong Kong Tennis Association Limited   Terms Of Use  Privacy Statement